Home > Forum > Categories > Random Tracks > Warm weather pants

Warm weather pants

• Pnwpowpow
  • [Pnwpowpow]
More
31 May 2020 19:03 #233788 by Pnwpowpow
Warm weather pants was created by Pnwpowpow
Hey TAY,
I've been skiing in the PNW for a few years now, and have found keeping cool challenging when the spring and summer come around. What pants do you typically wear for spring and summer skiing/mountaineering? It sounds like the old Ferrosi worked well, but apparently OR changed the fit and they no longer fit over ski boots. The Cirque seems almost perfect, but too warm, and lacks vents. And the Trailbreaker seems to only be available in black, or a two tone option that screams euro tech pants. Arcteryx seems to have some good options, but $$$!

I like to think the ideal pant would be:
1. Thin and very breathable
2. Lightly wind/water resistant
3. Have good sized vents allowing comfort in temps between 20 (with long underwear) and 60 (by themselves)
4. Have a trim fit to allow for crampon use without a lot of snagging
5. Can be worn after skiing to a bar without looking "hardcore"
6. Not too spendy - don't want to feel bad about thrashing them when it gets 'shwacky or when mountaineering.

Got any go to options? What are you going to be using all summer?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• MtnPavlas
  • [mtnpavlas]
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
More
31 May 2020 21:49 #233789 by MtnPavlas
Replied by MtnPavlas on topic Warm weather pants
How about the First Ascent / Eddie Bauer Guide series? Don't have crampon protection, but you could sew something on. I've got the convertible option, which do fit quite nicely over my Dynafit TLT 6 boots (with some room to spare), and love those a lot. Crazy sale going on right now, too.

• markharf
  • [markharf]
More
03 Jun 2020 23:40 #233793 by markharf
Replied by markharf on topic Warm weather pants