Home > Forum > Categories > Partners Wanted > Super-long shot. New to the backcountry, looking for good role models

Super-long shot. New to the backcountry, looking for good role models

• Other Aaron
  • [OtherAaron]
More
15 May 2020 09:44 #233734 by Other Aaron
Probably the wrong time to be posting something like this, so consider this an early start for next season (unless we start seeing more re-openings soon) I'm new to Backcountry skiing and have been looking for good role models, ski partners, or just an experienced ski group to let me tag along on some day ski trips.

I'm not diving in completely blind. I have done some short day tours with The Mountaineers at crystal and Meany lodge which have whet my appetite (and AIARE 1, of course). My issue has been finding groups outside of these highly organized events. My resort friends are a bit nervous about trying backcountry skiing, and I'm finding a lot of the facebook groups are filled with other novices who are too willing to dive into avalanche (or other adverse) conditions. 

In short, if anyone is willing to bring-up a backcountry novice with routes, advice, and days out, it would be much appreciated. I would like to get to the point where I could confidently lead those like I am currently into their first backcountry experiences, and not feel like undue liability when it comes to some of the larger objectives and summits.

About me:
  • 26 M
  • Learned to ski in 2012 (Socal native, cut me some slack)
  • Advanced-expert resort off-piste skier
  • Fairly cautious when entering new zones/new conditions
  • aggressive and confident skier in familiar terrain/good visibility
Any consideration would be much appreciated
Thank You
Aaron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• MtnPavlas
  • [mtnpavlas]
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
More
15 May 2020 10:03 #233735 by MtnPavlas