Home > Forum > Categories > Weak Layers > The "Seattle Skintrack" on Table Mountain

The "Seattle Skintrack" on Table Mountain

• hop
  • [hop]
More
29 Dec 2014 21:12 #137909 by hop
Another sunny day, another group of people with no mountain sense.  Do they not know that they're skinning straight up a popular descent route, fully exposed to any/everyone that drops in above them?  The way the Arm was breaking yesterday and the NWAC "considerable" rating for today - clearly down the the lake and back up the road is the better way to get back up.  It might take an extra few minutes or so but 1. you'll get a full length run and 2. you won't be in harm's way the entire time.

These are probably the same people that drove down the hill going 30mph while avoiding all the pullouts.    >:(

File Attachment:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Chris S
  • [mtnfreak]
More
30 Dec 2014 00:24 #137914 by Chris S
You're absolutely right - that's a complete noob move. But in defense of my new hometown, I think its just as likely a group of bro's from WWU. Either way, I hope that you or someone else nearby had a chance to straighten them out. Hope their ears are burning right now too.

• dave095790
  • [dave095790]
More
30 Dec 2014 02:54 #137915 by dave095790
Not defending anyone, I certainly know this can be annoying, and I'm not too familiar with that area (I don't recognize the specific terrain feature) but ...

Do you think it possible they knowingly chose to go straight up in order to evaluate the safety of coming down?

Did they get blasted with folks coming down the entire time they were climbing up?

Many ski routes are best done climbing/skinning the descent route so you can assess the conditions before you drop into a suicide run ....

Just trying to be a little devil's advocate before we paint them too poorly ...

• hop
  • [hop]
More
30 Dec 2014 10:56 #137954 by hop